What did I do this summer vacation?

As any student and teacher knows, each fall offers a chance to review what one did over the summer months. What adventures came my way?  How did I use those days to further my craft? What did I do exactly?

Normally I can’t explain what I did. Days flow into other days; books read pile up on the floor or are pushed onto book shelves with too many other books.  I count how many days I went swimming or how many friends I saw for lunch. . .

But these days, no longer a teacher, I get to think over my work.  So this is a kind of retrospective out loud–a kind of retelling what I did do– to the blogosphere. How did I grow? What did I learn? Where am I going from here?

image

The above picture shows most of the most I did this summer minus a few key pieces.

One piece–Back to the Garden– is in the member’s exhibit at the Riverside Art Museum.

image

image

image

That piece is my favorite because I worked at it with a variety of fiber skills: neeflefelting, nunofelting the flowers beforehand, embellishing with beads and embroidery. I went outside my comfort zone. It is also felted rather than nunofelted. It is light but sturdy and has a beautiful backside. See?

image

What I learned from that work motivated me to try capturing images in felt.

image

I loved the colors here and the way the felt moved the figures to make them dance.

image

I knew that my work was changing when I started grabbing colors and different textures and testing them out in Summer Garden. With bits of silk, wool,  sari silk, handspun, locks, and-dyed cheesecloth, beads–a fiber artist’s palette– all placed on the table with just the concept in mind, I created my garden.

image

image

I turned the scarf into a vest with felted in loops and vintage buttons and a practical garment was born. This vest was bought by a fb follower just hours after posting!

From there I experimented with art batts from Louise Player of Spincity UK who mixes together wonderful fibers into beautiful batts. Felters, check out her Etsy site!

image

This came from one of Louise’s batts.

image

This is another I called “Dark Night” that I turned into a vest with a horn button. It is nunofelted.

As I became more confident,  I just started playing with other wool fiber such as coldswold.

image

Cotswold is rare in the US and possesses a beautiful curley texture. It is heavier than merino so it is better suited for colder climates but the texture is lovely– youthful, cozy. I love the feel of it.

I dyed my own cheesecloth for nunofelting to deepen the color and lighten the garment. It captures the wool in a supple way.

image

I have experimented in other ways: some that didn’t work such as the tribute to Frank Lloyd Wright’s geometric design that just wouldn’t cooperate.

image

This is the unfelted version. The felted version?  Better left unseen.  But mistakes and other oddities happen as one expands into the unknown.

image

This is such an oddity. I tried a different shape. I may have rescued it with embellishment but we will see.

image

Also the court is out on the two faced scarf made with the base of a prefelt.  I am not sure I like prefelts. The lime colored one is my first. We will see.

So, what did I do for summer vacation?
A lot of exploring, trying to capture images and dreams, learning to work with different fibers—and just having a lot of fun doing it!  Thank you as a reader for indulging me as I write myself into understanding what I learned.http://www.facebook.com/pullofthemoondesigns

Leave a Reply

